My selfish Red Robin post – Florence, KY

I think I’ve said, numerous times, that I REALLY love Red Robin‘s burgers. Despite it being a chain, they’re really damn good. That’s my bottom line.

I’ve eaten there many times – so, I don’t know that I can be completely unbiased here but I’ll give it whirl. (okay, maybe I won’t…) I’ve never had bad service at Red Robin (this trip included), the food is always super quick and I enjoy the red baskets that they serve it in.

I did, however, try something different. I usually get the Guacamole Bacon Burger (Freshly prepared, zesty guacamole and applewood smoked bacon with melted Swiss cheese, onions, crisp lettuce, tomatoes & mayo.) but, this time, I got the Prime Chophouse Burger (Distinguished and delicious, this juicy burger is layered with horseradish-sautéed mushrooms, gourmet steak sauce, Provolone cheese and piled high with crispy onion straws. Served on an onion bun with creamy Country Dijon Sauce.) See? Who says that I can’t be adventurous?

Well, the reason I can be so adventurous is because we got the Game Day Nachos (We knocked these nachos out of the park. Tri-color corn tortilla chips smothered in our creamy Cheeseburger Con Queso and topped with fresh jalapeños, black beans, diced onions & tomatoes, cilantro, sour cream and freshly prepared guacamole.) beforehand – and those had guacamole on them!

I’ve had these nachos before and no, I don’t categorize them as PERFECT but they are really good! I don’t like the fresh jalapenos on them – I prefer pickled in the case of nacho building. It’s a good nacho BASE but they need more.

Anyway, back to my burger – I get it with still a smidgen of pink and I get my fries, with garlic and Parmesan added (yes, you can do that!). Also, the fries are BOTTOMLESS – not that I’ve ever ordered a second helping.

Fries were perfect (after a heavy dusting of Red Robin’s seasoning blend – located right on the table!) – heavy on the garlic! My husband hates them but…what does he know? I will never be attacked by a vampire after eating them.

The burger was really good (even though I stepped outside of my comfort zone). My ONLY complaint was that the onion straws weren’t that crispy. The burger is substantial, has a really good seasoning on it, the mushrooms were sautéed perfectly and I loved the horseradish blend on the whole thing. And, the bun choice = perfect! Plus, they put a nice diaper right on the burger and it catches anything that falls! When you bite into the burger, you really do get a perfect, complete bite.

Here’s my hubby’s burger – and, he never varies either! He always gets the Royal Red Robin burger (This is the aristocrat of all burgers because we crown it with a fresh fried egg. It’s topped with applewood smoked bacon, American cheese, crisp lettuce, fresh tomatoes and mayo.) – he gets sucked in by the fried egg on top!!!

As always – he loved his burger. Of course, if it were MINE, I would insist that the egg be runny but…I guess I’ll let him eat his burger how he wants it.

So, there it is. My selfish posting. I like looking at the burger pictures. I like angering people who hate Red Robin. And, I really like being able to write about whatever I want!

BTW – I almost broke down and got FISH at Red Robin this time. My husband talked me out of that blasphemy.  It’s a burger place, for the love of Pete!

Red Robin on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

