RSS

Butterbee’s – Beechmont (aka: China)

10 Feb

I had zero expectations going into Butterbee’s. I was going because I was meeting a group of fabulous women. Correction…fabulous EAST side women.

If you don’t know me, here’s a bit of info. My LEAST favorite drive is to Anderson/Beechmont. I don’t know what it is about 471, crossing into KY and out of KY, that just irritates the crap right of me, but it does. But, because I want to do adult things, just every once in a while, I took one for the team and drove to Butterbee’s.

Traffic on Beechmont Ave was horrible. It made me want to poke a fork right into my eye. But, I could see Butterbee’s from the exit ramp, so only a short jaunt in hell.

Butterbee’s is, obviously, a “bar” restaurant – I had no clue to expect but I knew that they had Nachos (because I’m a menu stalker).

After settling 20+ ladies (is that the right term?) in, we got down to ordering.

Kudos to the server – she did a great job. She was always there and kept up with so many of us.

I, of course, ordered the Gold Medal Nachos Grande (Fresh tortilla chips topped with homemade chili, jack ‘n cheddar cheese, jalapenos, diced tomatoes, and black olives – served with salsa and sour cream on the side).

 

These were good – I liked the chili and it had a good amount of cheese AND the “stuff” was evenly dispersed. What’s missing?!?!?! You guessed it, this guacamole girl needs some guacamole. No go. No guacamole in the whole restaurant. Boo.

Here are some other apps that were ordered (but I didn’t taste)

 

Cheesesticks

 

Fried pickles and waffle fries

Yes, Fried Pickles are one of my favorite appetizers but I only consume them in chip form.

Since our server recommended the Hand Breaded Chicken Tenders, that’s what I ordered (tossed in Spicy Garlic). I, also, for educational purposes, figured that I should order some Waffles Fries, with chili and cheese. I mean, I wouldn’t want to leave without clogging my arteries completely!

Just the tenders…

Just the Waffle Fries…

 

The tenders – the spicy garlic sauce was REALLY good. But, I expected more from the chicken – it’s not that it didn’t have a good taste. It was kind of tough. I don’t know if I got a bad batch but it was chewy.

Waffle Fries – yes, look at them. They were good – I don’t know that there’s any way that you can screw up something with the words waffle, cheese and chili in them!

Was it the best meal I’ve ever had? No, it was sports bar food.

My friend got the Black and Bleu Burger – she really liked it!

While Butterbee’s wasn’t amazing (food-wise), I’d certainly risk the drive again, for the great company!

Butterbee's Neighborhood Grille on Urbanspoon

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Butterbee’s – Beechmont (aka: China)

  1. Staci

    February 10, 2012 at 10:09 AM

    Woohoo! Great company indeed!

     
  2. Staci

    February 10, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    Next time, may I suggest the buffalo chicken wrap. To.Die.For.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

