The Pub – Crestview Hills, KY

I was very confused going to The Pub – I thought I had already been there before. In my defense, Pubs are pretty much all the same. Beer, fish’n’chips, potato pancakes, etc.

There was about a 30 minutes wait, when we got there. Not bad. I spent my time being intrigued that the hostesses were allowed to wear their kilts (isn’t that Scottish?) so tiny. It wasn’t leaving a lot of room for imagination. The English Hooters?

We were sat at a cute little 2 top table – up on a platform. (The husband was disappointed that he didn’t get a “king’s” chair…oh boy) And, there were a couple odd ducks to the right of us. I couldn’t quite grasp what they had going on. I discounted them being gay. They were dressed business-y BUT weren’t discussing anything particularly important. Yet, they weren’t discussing anything fun either = not friends. It was perplexing.

After we ordered some drinks (no, just normal drinks – water and diet), I looked over the menu. Okay, brief side note…the server was very nice. I think she was flirting, with my husband, but…I’m a secure girl and can handle it. I think he’s hot, too. I don’t blame her. I, quickly, realized that we were NOT at the same Pub we’ve been to before. I was getting confused with Claddagh, in Mason. They had some really delicious fries, sorry, CHIPS, that were topped with cheesy goodness. When I couldn’t find them on THIS Pub’s menu, I realized that I wasn’t in Kansas anymore.

However, we found the Young’s BBQ Crisps (House-made crisps loaded with English Farmhouse Cheddar, bacon, scallions and Young’s Double Chocolate Stout BBQ sauce) and thought they’d be tasty!

 

I really wanted to like them. And, for once, the husband agreed with me! They were just kind of “eh”. The cheese was hard (and it needed more). The chips were bland. The BBQ sauce was good – just not enough. I wouldn’t order them again.

Since I was already going into the dinner, knowing that I wanted fish, I ordered the Fish’n’Chips (A Pub classic, served with house-made tartar sauce and lemon) and the man ordered the Welsh Dip Pub Pretzel (Sliced prime rib, green peppers, onions, melted mozzarella and provolone cheeses served with au jus).

We had a great debate about whether he should order that sandwich or not. We don’t really like sandwiches on pretzels – typically, they’re too chewy and just too much bread. But, our flirting server, convinced us that this pretzel would be soft!

So, here’s his sandwich…

It DID look good. The fries/chips looked sad.

Let’s just say, he devoured it in minutes – so, the pretzel must not have been so bad, after all!

Here’s mine – I was looking forward to it! I’m slightly obsessed with fish, obviously!

The fish was ungodly huge! It took over the whole plate!

Again – it looked really delicious. LOOKED, being the operative word. That whole fish log…is BREADING. Okay, if anyone English or Irish or Scottish (I’m still confused by the British flags with kilts thing), could chime in here, that would be fantastic! Is it supposed to be super sweet (almost hush puppy-ish – but, not in a good way), fluffy and mass breading? Is that how they really do it in England? If it is, then, I’m wrong.

However – I hated it. I ended up, digging the fish (maybe 4 inches out of a foot of “log”) out and eating it plain. I couldn’t even stomach the breading – it was horrible.

And the fries/chips? Soggy, gross – not salty. They were left behind – the sad soldiers.

Since we had a GC – we plowed on to dessert. I was full but the husband loves his chocolate.

We got the Warm Cookie Sundae (Freshly baked chocolate chunk cookies. Topped with vanilla bean ice cream and caramel sauce) <–Um, nothing at all wrong with that description!

 

It was very good – BUT (you knew there’d be one, right?) a little under cooked, in MY opinion. I know some people like the feel of raw cookie dough. I don’t. It could have been in for about 2 more minutes. So, pliable but together. But, since I only got 2 bites – it was fine.

I don’t know that we’ll be back. The service was really great. The food, not so much.

The Pub Crestview Hills on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

