Piada – Hyde Park

Woohoo! The Book Club girls and I headed to our normal Hyde Park meeting spot BUT decided to try something new – Piada. It’s been dubbed the Chipotle of Italian food – we’ll see.

Kind of a cool concept – you start off with either a piada (flatbread), pasta or a salad base. Pick your proteins, sauce and veggies – and you’re off and running!

I hate angel hair pasta (the only pasta available) and I already had a salad that day – piada it was!

They already had one, conceptualized, that I decided on – the Calamari Piada!

Piada Calamari up close

It was okay – I wish that the piada was more like a flatbread than a tortilla. The Calamari tasted like chicken. I thought that diavolo would have some kick to it, but it didn’t. I liked the red peppers.

My friend got the Tuscan Chicken Salad with a cup of Lobster Bisque.

Piada Tuscan Chicken Salad

Just to show you what a salad looks like – pasta is the same set up.

I, also, got a Pepperoni Piada Stick

Piada Pepperoni stick

Piada inside pepperoni stick

If I could go back in time, I’d just get this – really good! I got a side of creamy Parmesan…not very good. It was bland – mine is 1000X better. And, I’m not even Italian.

I do like the restaurant concept because they’re trying something new but it just didn’t do it for me. I found it to be average.

Piada Italian Street Food on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

