Terry’s Turf Club

Yes, I’m a little late to the game, blogging about Terry’s Turf Club (no website). But, keep in mind, I’ve never seen the movie “Frozen” either. I live in my own little bubble.

The husband and I are dieting (it’s the no fun diet, believe me) so we have Saturdays as our cheat days. What better way to shovel down some calories than with a greasy burger?

I imagine that we hyped Terry’s Turf Club way up – I mean, most everyone raves about it. They were on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. And, they’re packed all the time. My expectations were super high.

We got there about 5:30 on a Saturday and we got lucky in the parking – right across the street due to my husband’s supreme parallel parking skills!

I love that it was fun and funky on the outside…

Terry's Turf Club Smiley Face

Terry's Turf Club outside

We only had to wait about 10 minutes (with some very “interesting” people outside). And, we got to sit in the cool shoe shine booth. Of course, that means that the husband and I had to share a side – I hate being “that” couple. ;)

Here was our view from the top…

Terry's Turf Club inside

It was good for people watching.

I was supposed to remember to take a picture of the menu but I was so overwhelmed by burger toppings that it kind of fell to the wayside.

While debating our choices, the husband ordered some chili.

Terry's Turf Club Chili

It was okay. Very tomato-y and not very chili-y (yes, those are actual terms).

It also came out super fast which got our hopes all high for fast food delivery.

Being as the burger was $8.50 and each “gourmet” topping was about $2.50, I knew I had to take it easy or else I’d end up with a $20 burger. (I wanted some avocado, goat cheese and bacon…plus a side of bearnaise). I’ll show you what I ended up with in a sec. The hubby’s first.

He got a burger, added wasabi and a side of fries.

Terry's Turf Club Mike burger better

I’ll give you our thoughts, at the bottom.

My burger – burger with avocado and a side of fries with cheese dip ($2.50)

Terry's Turf Club My burger

The bun was WRONG. Ciabatta, not a good choice. (and the bottom was soggy anyway). TOO frickin’ big! Seriously – I’m really supposed to take a bite out of that? Can I get the avocado cut so it looks like I might ATTEMPT to eat it whole? And my cheese dip was a 2 oz plastic ramekin. That’s some expensive cheese.

The food was delivered with a knife (needed to ask for a fork later after I deconstructed my burger)- I took the avocado off (goodbye $2.50) and super smushed my sandwich down.  The burger was okay. Just tasted like a hunk of semi-dry meat.

The husband, while able to chew his, agreed with me (will wonders never cease!). He could barely taste the wasabi (goodbye again, $2.50!) and he was seriously underwhelmed by the whole thing.

The fries were average (think, Penn Station fries) but required serious salt dousing. The FIRST thing the husband said to me…”You’re going to need more salt on those”. It’s BAD when he thinks that they need more salt. I mean, I’m like a human salt lick but him? His salt expectations are way low. ;)

Our food also took about 25-30 minutes to come out.

I did love the host – he was fantastic and chatty. :)

We chatted after we ate and paid our $50 (with tip – yes, 2 burgers, 2 soft drinks and a chili). We’d rather have Quatman’s for a basic burger and Smashburger or Red Robin for a gourmet burger.

I don’t understand the hype. I didn’t like Terry’s Turf Club.

Terry's Turf Club on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Terry’s Turf Club

  1. ICP, yay! I found your blog again. I am glad to see I am not the only one who is not a fan of Terry’s Turf Club. I ate there before Triple D and it was not good and way too much money for what was thrown at you and it seems it is still the same.

Leave a Reply

