Superbowl Eats!

Okay. I have a confession to make. I swore that I was going to cook dinner, this week and you know what?  I haven’t. Not ONE damn day. I’ve been busy – what can I say?

Monday – I tossed a rotisserie chicken at the family as I went to a class.

Tuesday – I gave the husband taco meat. The kids were not into eating.

Wednesday – I had a class = I brought home meatloaf for Mike.

Thursday – going to dinner with friends

Friday – pizza night

I guess I’m not getting the mother or wife of the year award either. Oh, well.

BUT – I did make lots of yummy things for Superbowl.

I’m going to preface this first item with one thing – I can bake my ass off…it might not necessarily be cute. But, I gave it my best. Cupcakes are my thing. Cakes…not so much.

Football Cake

Football Cake 2

Shut up – you are NOT to laugh at my cake! It was a chocolate lovers dream – chocolate cake, chocolate cream cheese icing, chocolate ganache glaze! Just a little ugly, but tasty! I have the utmost respect for cake decorators!

Okay – moving on! I made Spicy Asian Wings. Last time I made these, Mike complained that they weren’t hot enough. So, THIS time, I used 3 jalapenos, 1 tbsp of red pepper flakes and 1 habanero. Yeah, that will show him! It didn’t. He said that they still weren’t hot. Guess he’s getting 3 habaneros, next time!

Asian Wings

Made a veggie stromboli and a meat stromboli – the meat one was HOT! I think it was the Capicola Ham that did it in! My tastebuds were tingling!

Stromboli

Fried Mozzarella Balls!

Mozz Balls

Stuffed Mushrooms – seriously, these things are so tasty and addictive. I’ll give you the recipe, after the photo!

Mushrooms

Stuffed Mushrooms! 


12-15 mushrooms, cleaned
1 8oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 pound sausage, cooked and drained
mushroom stems
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 jalapeno, seeded and diced
6 green onions, chopped
salt and pepper
grated parmesan
shredded parmesan

Clean mushrooms and remove stems (SAVE!). Just cut the very bottom portions off.
Cook sausage and drain. Put on top of cream cheese.
Finely chop the mushroom stems – add a smidgen of olive oil to the sausage grease and add mushroom stems. Add diced jalapeno and garlic.
When it’s all sauteed (about 5 minutes) – place mixture on top of cream cheese and sausage. Add salt and pepper, to taste. (not too much salt because the parm is salty) Add about 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese and 1/4 shredded parmesan cheese. Chop green onions, finely and add to mix. Blend all together well.
Spray bottom of 9X13. Place mushrooms, empty side up, in pan. Spray mushrooms and salt them a little. Put a hefty tbsp of mixture into each mushroom. Bake @375 for about 20 minutes or until tops are browned and bubbly.

Not only do I love the Superbowl for the football, but definitely, for the food!

Looking forward to – Bridgetown Finer Meats starts their Fish Fry, THIS Friday! Yah for getting a jump start on that. I’m going to hit them up for lunch and then, on Friday, since I’ll be solo (the boy is leaving me for a school function – whatever), I’m going to get my FREE Papa John’s pizza. <–I won the coin toss contest that they had going!

So, even though I’ve been a slacker mom and wife – I’ve still been cooking my booty off this week!

Leave a comment